“…on which everything depends…” -Benedict XVI

A desire of mine is to write out and clarify to myself the confusing pile of wonderful experiences and dawnings I’ve had since discovering Catholicism; however, another desire is to methodically and succinctly chart the step-by-step that brought me and Jacelyn to the Church.  Unfortunately, those two are quite different in format.  The former is meandering and often clueless; whereas the latter should be easily palatable and understandable.  I also would love “open dialogue” with people on both “sides” of the Easter Vigil Fence.  I think my biggest dilemma is that of not wanting to offend or push away all of my Protestant brothers and sisters with any of my vernacular, but, at the same time, wanting to show how fundamentally and powerfully Catholic I really am.  I want to show “Group A” that I never forsook or “left” anything of my Pentecostal heritage behind (Truly, truly) AND that I am definitively and forever a member of “Group B”.

The quote in the title is from the opening foreword of Pope Benedict XVI’s book Jesus of Nazareth.  The subject he is referring to “on which everything depends” is, in his words, “…intimate friendship with Jesus.”  Reading those words was one of the beginning concrete moments in my life when I began to realize that I had a soaring mountain of prejudice and misconception towards the Catholic Church.  I’d always thought that Christ was probably “somewhere hidden in the depths of Catholicism” and that a few lucky folks probably coincidentally discovered Him in the dark once in a while.  It was reading the words of “their” leader–a man who could be the anti-Christ, head of the “whore of Babylon”–that caused a determining crumble in that thick wall of error my upbringing and experiences had built.

In the time I spend writing here, I hope to navigate through all of this and show both “sides” the common ground of 85% similarity that we have, to quote Peter Kreeft, and, hopefully, to shed a bit of light for myself and others on the nearly 15% merely different emphasis we also share.

Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

